Surfing for Thought: Minds in the Water

As our world progresses in technology and communication, it is pretty unbelievable that awareness of such cruel and barbaric acts as the dolphin killings in Taiji have not spread to most of the U.S., if not the world! Especially one that has received as much coverage as this annual slaughter has, i.e. The Cove. But still, except during the last hunting season (due to the brave determination of Cove guardians) every year in Taiji, 23,000 dolphins are brutally killed.

Today, I showed the trailer for Minds in the Water, a movie produced by professional surfer Dave Rastovich, which follows his experiences as a surfer and activist, in order to defend the animals he swims with.  In 2007, among a group of 5 other surfers that included Hayden Panettiere, Rastovich personally paddled out to fight to save a group of trapped pilot whales in the Taiji cove. as they fight a daily battle to save their environment. Personally, I commend this global campaign for awareness of the plight of the these amazing animals, including sharks which do not receive enough positive attention. Every day, ocean dwellers fight to survive in their delicate environments, which has been put in danger by us.
“The message of the film is two fold: The power of one individual to inspire people to take action and make a difference and if ocean minded people are to pass on a sustainable culture, then they must become responsible stewards of their coastal environment.”

After watching the trailer (below), I ‘signed’ the visual petition for these animals:

You can also do so (and please do!), HERE.

“-I ……………………………… acknowledge that this is the 11th hour for our ocean kin. I want to be a voice and a force of direct action for the ocean inhabitants.
-As we see the wanton destruction of the worlds last great forests, pollution of the air and the crippling of rivers and waterways, the Whale, wonderous monarch of the sea has become the greatest symbol of the fragility of our mother earth- mother ocean.
-I fully believe that we as ocean loving individuals have the power to implement change. I will endeavour to raise awareness of this issue and support this collective power who wish to honour Nature.
-We will no longer tolerate this attack on our beloved Dolphins and Whales in our shared domain. ”

The message: if ocean minded people are to pass on a sustainable culture then they must become responsible stewards of their coastal environment.
~ Dave Rastovich

To read more about how you can help, read my Help Taiji Dolphins page, please!

About Brittany Hahn

I’m Brittany Hahn. I graduated from UCLA with a B.S. in Psychobiology, and am now attending veterinary school. I decided to start this blog so that I can tell people the things affecting the creatures that I care so much about. My hope is people will be touched after reading about my feelings of desperation about these ongoing cruelties, at least in some ways. It truly hurts me that our generation is so apathetic towards the sufferings of marine animals. I know that there are so many other horrible things in this world, but I think that if we all cared a little more, and if we all helped a little more, we could make this world a little brighter. It’s easier not to care, but that doesn’t mean that it’s right.
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surfing for Thought: Minds in the Water

  1. Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that
    I acquire actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I achievement you get right of entry to constantly quickly.

  2. Right here is the right blog for anyone who would like to find out about
    this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I really will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic which has been discussed for a long time.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

