Maui’s Dolphins are in Danger; We Need to Act Now!

I’m sure that you have all noticed that I have not been posting like I used to. I have started veterinary school, and it unfortunately is taking up all of my time. I hope that you are all doing well.

Maui's dolphin

Marine conservation is an important issue, and marine species are always in danger. This time, the plight of the Maui’s dolphin has caught my attention. With only 55 dolphins of the world’s rarest species currently remaining, the jeopardy that these dolphins are in is real. According to wildlife advocates, this species could “disappear within three decades [by 2031] if New Zealand doesn’t act now” (New Zealand Herald). WWF-New Zealand is trying to save these dolphins by organizing a petition that aims to collect 55,000 signatures before this year’s general election. “Today, WWF is saying enough is enough. We’re running out of time,” declared WWF-NZ executive director Chris Howe. “Maui’s are the rarest marine dolphins in the world; they only exist on the west coast of the North Island of New Zealand. We have an obligation to the world to do everything we can to save them,” he says.

Called “The Last 55,” the campaign’s aim is to extend the ban on set-netting and trawling within 100 meters of the coast. These practices kill about five dolphins per year. With only 55 dolphins left, even a number this small poses an extreme threat. This campaign doesn’t simply want to let fisherman fend for themselves; it wants to help them shift to dolphin-friendly practices. The campaign has created an app that allows people to simulate the experience of losing all but 55 of their facebook friends; it will help people to realize just how small this number really is. After using this app, people are encouraged to sign a petition. People that do not have a facebook account can still partake in this experience by visiting this website

Sources:

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11257720

http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PO1405/S00331/new-campaign-to-highlight-mauis-dolphin-plight.htm

About Brittany Hahn

I’m Brittany Hahn. I graduated from UCLA with a B.S. in Psychobiology, and am now attending veterinary school. I decided to start this blog so that I can tell people the things affecting the creatures that I care so much about. My hope is people will be touched after reading about my feelings of desperation about these ongoing cruelties, at least in some ways. It truly hurts me that our generation is so apathetic towards the sufferings of marine animals. I know that there are so many other horrible things in this world, but I think that if we all cared a little more, and if we all helped a little more, we could make this world a little brighter. It’s easier not to care, but that doesn’t mean that it’s right.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

